Time to Move On

moving-on

I had originally planned to post this next week, but came to the realization at church yesterday that the “big secret” is already out…so why not blog about it? After a great deal of prayer and many deep conversations, Christine and I believe that God is calling us away from our ministry at Vale. We are blessed in that we have the complete support of our Sr. Pastor (my Boss) and will be secure in our position at Vale until God leads us to our new ministry home. This is a positive thing. God has made it clear that the kind of ministry He wants us doing isn’t the same kind of ministry He’s calling Vale to do. It’s time for us to go where our gifts can be used to the fullest and allow God to bring in someone wired to move Vale in the direction He has planned. These are ALL good things! Over the last several days, doors have already started to open and God has made it clear that He is working things out for His purpose.

This has been one of the more difficult decisions we’ve ever had to face. I’m realizing that the easier part is following God’s leading, but the harder part is leaving behind the people you love so dearly. Vale has been huge for us. We’ve learned so much and have been stretched in so many different ways here. I’m learning that one aspect of ministry is that God is continually preparing you for your next steps. That could be a new direction for your ministry, a new way of leading people or even a new perspective on church…but, for us, it means that He’s been preparing us to be elsewhere. We are both brokenhearted and filled with anticipation at this thought.

Over the next several weeks, I’m planning on blogging through this journey. At the very least, it should make for some interesting reading! There are interviews already on the horizon and resumes flying all over the Internet…I have no idea where it will all lead, but I rest comfortably knowing that God does.

To my blog friends…If you know of any ministries on the hunt, please drop me a line!

To my Vale family, I want you all to know how deeply you are cherished. You have been such a tremendous blessing to me and my family . It’s been the joy of my ministry life to seek Jesus with you. Whether we’re here for a matter of weeks or a matter of months, I will treasure our remaining time together more than you know.

4 Responses

  1. Dude! That’s crazy news! I’m excited to see what God’s next steps for you will be! Keep us updated on here!

  2. Wow. What an amazing faith based move.

    I will be praying for you and eagerly reading your journey.

  3. All of blogging SouthField is praying with you and your family. Just remember the key to knowing God’s will for a new place…great coffee!

Leave a Reply

