Wal-Mart, An Old Lady and My Aching Back

So the other day my family and I popped into the local Wal-Mart to grab a few things. Part way through our discounted retail journey, we happened upon an older lady who was trying to find a way to lift a HUGE “Desk-in-a-Box” into her cart. Being the nice “servant” people we are, my Wife offered up my massive artist like muscles to help solve the problem.

I stood back and eyed the box as if I was sizing up an opponent and tried to find a creative way to get my hands in a position to actually slide the beast towards me. Surely it only weighed 75-80 pounds right? So I grabbed, pulled and leveraged this box off the shelf and into my arms…only then do I realize that I had underestimated the weight by at least a full 100 pounds. So then…the “manliness” really kicked in.

I thought to myself: “I can’t put the box down…I’ll never get it back off the ground. I can’t ask for help…that would admit that I’m not the sharpest knife in the drawer”. So what did I do? I breathed in and mustered up every ounce of strength I could find. I twisted, bent and contorted myself until, sure enough, I had the “Desk-in-a-Box” firmly planted in the little old lady’s cart.

My wife asked; “Honey, is your back okay?”…I looked up at the old lady and knew it would just crush her if I had actually hurt myself. So I say; “No…I’m fine…no big deal”. Off went the the little old lady and her overloaded cart toward the checkout. Once she was out of site, I finally had to admit just how dim I really was.

It’s been a few days and I’m still stiff as a board. It hurts to sit for great lengths of time and playing catch with my Son lasts about 10 minutes before I’m feeling it. In the end, it certainly could have been worse. Next time however…I’ll leave it to my friendly Wal-Mart associates to sacrifice their spines.

Leave a Reply

