Like It Was Yesterday

I still remember 9/11 like it happened yesterday. I remember coming in to work and hearing that something had happened in NY. For some reason, my computer was the only computer in the office that day that was able to stream the live video feed from msnbc.com. So there I sat at my desk with several co-workers surrounding me…each of us staring intently at the screen. The feed froze for several seconds and when it came back, the south tower was gone. I don’t think any of us knew what to say, but I do remember what I thought. Why God…Why? It was hard to grasp that a good and gracious God would allow such a terrible tragedy. It was hard to fathom the heartache that was ahead for so many families.

That afternoon, I got a phone call from my Pastor saying we were going to have a worship service that night. I’m not even sure I grasped why at that moment, but I knew God was going to do something. Our team met to plan and rehearse around 5pm, each of us still in shock from the events of the morning. At 7, we took the stage to a standing room only gathering. People we’d never seen before were standing in our building. People from all walks of life standing shoulder to shoulder all the way into the lobby. It was in that moment that I understood why we needed to worship that night.

Over the next 90 minutes, we sang, shared, prayed, wept and ultimately understood that even in the midst of terrible tragedy, God was still worthy of our worship. To this day, that was probably the most amazing time of worship I have ever been a part of. There are many things I remember about 9/11, but most of all I remember how God showed himself powerful, faithful and worthy. Sometimes we don’t understand the “why” of God…but even in the hardest of circumstances, we can never forget the “worth” of God.

Leave a Reply

