Up All Night

So I had one of those “can’t sleep” nights. This happens every once in a while. I’m tired, I go to bed and PRESTO…nothing. I managed to doze off somewhere between my Son coming into my room at 4:30 and the dog needing to go potty at 8ish. Usually when this happens, God is trying to tell me something. Seems He can get my attention a little easier when all I have distracting me is a ceiling fan. I came away tired, but excited for what God laid on my heart.

If you know me, you know I’m a “move forward” kind of guy. I’m always looking for the next steps for our ministry. I spent my time last night re-envisioning what we do visually at Vale and asking a lot of questions.

How do we take things to another level?

What do we need to do this year to prep for next year?

How should I budget to make this a reality?

Am I pushing the envelope to far or not far enough?

How does this all tie in to our big picture vision?

By the time I got up, I was full of ideas. I don’t think it’s a coincidence that it’s budget time again. I feel like last night was God pulling me aside saying; “here’s what I want for your ministry…here’s what you need to budget for…here’s how you go forward.”

I’m seriously exhausted this morning but, I’ll take a sleepless night anytime to connect with God like that….Now let’s see if I can keep my eyes open in the office today!

One Response

  1. I’ve learned to leave a small notebook and pen beside my pen for nights like these. I find everything makes sense at 3 AM 🙂

Leave a Reply

