From a Different Perspective (Grenada Pt.4)

It’s strange how the familiar seems to have a different look to it after experiencing life from a different perspective. Life in Grenada is a lesson in contrasts. Some people do fairly well on the island, while others have absolutely nothing. Some people have pretty nice homes, while others live in tin and wood shacks. Some people have running water while others bathe outdoors using buckets. Yet even those in the best of circumstances couldn’t ‘t even begin to dream of how good we have it in the states.

I came home bothered by that. I came home uncomfortable with how I live in comparison to how many of the people I spent my week with live. I came home with a total discontent for how poorly the local church is doing in Grenada. I came home burdened with their burdens and struggling with their struggles. I came home with a change in perspective.

In the end, what I thought would be a one time event in my life, has become a cause to which I’m dedicated. I don’t know what the future holds. I don’t know when or under what circumstances I’ll return to the island, but I do know I WILL return. I can’t go on living my cozy American life without being dedicated to going back. I can’t continue to live as I live without recognizing this burden I have for these people.

The answer to the struggles in Grenada lies within the local church. That’s where we will be investing our time and efforts and that is where God will begin to reclaim this island for His glory…and I can’t wait to be a part of that!

Leave a Reply

