Processing Ideas

One word I’ve been using a lot lately is “process”. In ministry life, the process of how you get from point “a” to point “b” is pretty important. You could have the greatest idea in the history of ministry, but if there’s no plan or process in place to make it happen, it’s going to stumble out of the gate. The opposite can also be true…You can have an idea, process and re-process it over and over, until eventually that idea loses momentum.

I’m learning that the key is to process with a team. In our Creative Ministry, I process and discuss ideas with my creative team. The great thing about these meetings is that we can share an idea and the vision behind it…We can have free conversation and candid debate, which generally leads to an improved version of the original idea.

I can’t imagine what life would be like without my team. I suppose I would simply implement every idea that came to mind and hope for the best. That sounds like the worst plan ever, doesn’t it? With my team however, I can have a bad idea and through the process begin to see just how bad it is. I can also have a good idea, and through the process, find a way to make it a great idea.

In the end, I’m not a fan of over thinking or over processing anything…but having a solid team who understands your ministry and the vision behind it can make all the difference in processing thoughts and ideas successfully.

Leave a Reply

