Legalism

My BIGGEST pet peeve in ministry is legalism…”You need to do it this way, because that’s what a good (insert denomination here) does.” – That’s how I grew up. I grew up thinking God was more concerned with what I did than with the condition of my heart. I thought He was more concerned with how many verses I could recite than whether or not I loved His Word. I grew up thinking that God wanted me to feel guilty…ALL THE TIME!

That’s what legalism does to people.

Honestly, I’m one of the lucky ones. I ended up still falling in love with Jesus. Many more simply walk away. They walk away because they’re tired of living with the guilt, the burden, the impossible expectations and the never ending set of “rules” that all good (insert denomination here) live by.

I want my kids and my church to know how very much Jesus loves them, regardless of where they are on their journey. I want them to know that they don’t have to jump through any hoops for God to start loving them. I want them to know that there is nothing they can do (or not do) to make that love stop. That’s the God I serve…That’s the God I love so dearly.

 

 

One Response

  1. I grew up in a church like that. Where we were taught to follow the rules and not question the why. Thankfully, I’m one of those who fell in love with Jesus. I can’t remember a time that I didn’t know him. And I shudder to think of who I would be if I had continued down that path of legalism. Probably one of those “lovely” people who makes the lives of us in ministry so much “fun”.

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

