People Watching

I was sitting in the parking lot at Wal-Mart this afternoon and found myself people watching. It was quite the interesting cast of characters making their way towards retail bliss. I found myself trying to figure out each persons life story in the 10 seconds I had them in view. I’d love to say I thought nothing but positive things about these people, but the truth is, I found myself being pretty harsh.

It made me wonder if that’s a bit what we’re like at our churches. “Mr. and Mrs. Visitor” walks through the door and within the first 10 seconds of their entrance, we’ve already passed judgement on their spiritual status, marital health and financial fortitude.

The simple truth is that we have no clue what someone is carrying with them as they walk through the Wal-Mart parking lot or into the lobby of our churches. Maybe they’re lost or maybe you just found the new ministry leader you’ve been praying for. Maybe their marriage is in shambles or maybe you just found someone to mentor young couples in your church. Maybe they’re broke and penniless or maybe they have an incredible gift of generosity. 

The truth is this:

God knows…We don’t…It’s that simple…Lesson learned!

Leave a Reply

