Balance

One of the biggest struggles in ministry is balance. The balancing act between ministry and the rest of life can be a challenge. Over the last couple of years, I’ve intentionally tried to be aware of this struggle. I’ve tried to keep it at the forefront of my mind. I remember saying during my interview process at Vale, that “I would never sacrifice my family on the altar of ministry”– What I said then, I meant with all my heart and I have been very intentional about keeping that commitment. None the less, there are times when I wonder if I’m doing right by my family. Am I keeping the balance? Am I keeping my family in the #1 ministry position in my life, or are they being left behind?

This week is a pretty heavy week. Our worship retreat begins Friday and I have a laundry list of things to get done. I still have my usual weekly list of meetings and “to do’s” that need to happen. And, to top it all off…I’m not feeling especially creative this week. It’s weeks like this that I really struggle with this balance.

This isn’t the first time I’ve been in this spot and I’m quite certain it won’t be the last. I’ve found that on heavy ministry weeks, the scales are already out of balance. There’s more to be done this week, so more is naturally added to that side of the scale. For me, I’ve found that the best way to fix this is to make an extra investment on the other side of the scale. The truth is, even though I’m feeling a bit drained, I always have time to shoot a few hoops, play with a few Barbie’s and sit on the porch with my beautiful Wife. It doesn’t seem like much, but it’s more than enough to reset the scale.

If I can’t make time for the simplest of things, even in the midst of a busy week…then my life is truly out of balance.

Leave a Reply

