The Lesson

jk_pic.jpg

So this afternoon, I headed off to Illinois State University for my first vocal lesson in nearly a decade. I found the biggest, baddest classical guy I could find and signed up (that’s him in the picture). The last few years have really been a struggle for me vocally. To compensate for all of my sinus issues, I’ve picked up a ton of bad vocal habits. I noticed some improvement after my sinus surgery, but my voice has never really returned to what it once was. So…it’s back to the beginning I go.

10 years ago, vocal training had a huge impact on me as a singer and I’m hoping the same is true this time around. So, why go classical? It’s hard to imagine the same person singing “Hillsong United” and “The Barber of Seville” out of the same mouth…isn’t it? The truth is, classical singing translates beautifully into a contemporary context. Plus, it’s nice to be able to bust out in a rendition of “Figaro” whenever I feel like it!

We’ll see what happens, but for now…I’m a vocal student again.

Leave a Reply

