Observation From Not Quite Making it Home

hyatt.jpg

Wouldn’t you know it…I finally get to head home and my last of 3 planes breaks down (thankfully before I got on it). So, I’m spending the night, in the lap of luxury, at the Hyatt Regency O’Hare.

Here’s a travel tip: If you ever have a plane break down and the airline is going to put you up in a hotel, be REALLY nice. The guy next to me was getting pretty nasty with the customer service folks, while I was all smiles. He’s spending the night at the “Super 8” and I’m at the “Hyatt”. Coincidence? Hmmm…I think not!

I saw something today, that I hope I’ll never see again. The turbulence got so bad on my flight to Chicago, that the pilot got on the intercom, told the flight attendants to strap in and anyone in the aisles to sit on the floor. Just like one of my previous flights, there were screams a plenty on the old United Airlines Airbus. I don’t know what it was about this trip, but I had some pretty “hairy” flights. One more to go tomorrow morning.

Speaking of my flight, I was seated near the back, by not 1, not 2, not 3, not 4, but FIVE screaming children. Thankfully, my iPod drowned out the noise.

Anyhow, time to watch a little TV and hit the sack. Hopefully I can finally make it home tomorrow.

One Response

  1. Glad to hear you at least made it to Chicago… I was on a flight back from California once and we hit some turbulence. I was in the bathroom (finished thankfully) washing my hands when it started to get bumpy. A little picture lit up on the wall showing a person sitting on the toilet – so I did. I guess the (closed 🙂 ) toilet is the next best thing to being belted into your seat… Who wudda thunk?

Leave a Reply

