Passion vs. Pushiness

push21.jpg

I’ve had this internal debate going on for quite some time now. How do you differentiate between being passionate about something and being pushy? Our office dynamic at Vale has really transformed in recent months. There is a clear forum for expressing our opinions. ..and that is something, right or wrong, that I tend to be pretty good at. Most of the time, I feel as though I’m speaking out of passion. But when does my passion become pushiness? Are there times when I think I’m being passionate, when in reality, I’m just trying to push “my agenda”? Are there times when I miss God’s leading because I’m too busy being “passionate” about something?

Over the last few months, I’ve really been seeking God on this and here’s what He’s laid on my heart.

-Passion is birthed out of a “holy discontent”…Pushiness is birthed out of selfishness.

-Passion is God centered…Pushiness is “me” centered.

-Passion is about God’s desires not an agenda…Pushiness is about an agenda and nothing else.

-Passion wants Gods will even if it means changing your opinion…Pushiness wants my will at any cost.

In the end, it’s all about motive. If I’m going to fight for a bigger focus on our 1st impressions ministry, is it because I don’t like the color of our walls, or is it because I see us falling short of making an impact in peoples lives? If I’m going to stick up for a bigger financial investment in our Children’s area, is it because I want to have some new tech toys to play with or is it because I long for every child to be impacted when they walk through our doors?

God created us to be passionate for His purposes, not pushy about our agenda. I’ve come to realize that it really isn’t that difficult to distinguish between the two. If it’s God centered it’s passion…if it’s me centered it’s pushiness.

Struggle resolved…

5 Responses

  1. wow, i don’t even work at a church yet and i can apply this to so many things in my life!

    great post!

  2. GREAT distinction between the two… great distinction.
    thank you for putting it into words for us.

    all about motive.

  3. Thanks for this. I needed to hear it today. I often find myself looking back and realizing it was pushiness and not passion. I need Him to make me aware when I go into situations to know my motives up front.

  4. spot on, dude!

  5. I have been following your blog from the beginning and I think this is one of your best posts…I have this struggle with so many things and always have to step back and look at my motivation. Sometimes it is very hard for me to see the line Passion and Pushy…I think what God wants sometimes gets lost in what Bryan wants and I can justify that by saying “I am doing that for God”..those are usually the times when I fall flat on my face…

    Thanks for reminding me to check my motivation..

Leave a Reply

