Daydreaming

daydream1.jpg

I’ve always been a daydreamer. I can remember being the kid in class that was oblivious that the teacher was calling his name. I can remember thinking so deeply about a situation, a person or a decision that I would drive myself to tears or laughter, as if it was actually happening. Like I said, I’ve always been a day dreamer.

Now that I’m older and in ministry full-time, those daydreams live on in a different light. They live on in a light of discontent. Most of us have heard Bill Hybels talk about having a “holy discontent”. This deep down, pit of your stomach, longing to right a wrong, fix what’s broken and step into the story of God feeling. We hit on this topic this Sunday at Vale and I found myself once again…daydreaming.

It bothers me that there are people in our community that haven’t been reached for Christ. It bothers me that there are people bound to addiction, starving in poverty and broken in violence. It bothers me that people’s needs are not being met. And most of all it bothers me that the local church isn’t doing its part. This is my “holy discontent”. It literally makes my gut churn when I dwell on this.

So I started daydreaming again. I started wondering what would happen if we not only said we cared…but showed we cared. Would the community look at the church differently? Would they actually see the church as a place of hope? Would they see us as the hands and feet of Christ instead of as self-centered fanatics?

The truth is, there is no one in our community who isn’t searching. They’re all looking for help, relief, relationship, direction….hope. They may not know it, but they are ultimately searching for Jesus. Every longing, every searching need in their life can be met by Him. As one of my favorite teachers says; we need to bring “up there, down here”. That is the mission of the local church…my church, your church. Our hands as His hands, our words as His words…our lives serving their lives.

I’m daydreaming again. The only difference is this time it’s not just about my life…it’s about the life of the local church touching the lives of our communities.

2 Responses

  1. Great post!!! It is funny how sometimes we get so caught up in doing church that we fail to be the church! Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Bro,

    You are too nice. I need you get you some Andy Stanley tapes!

    Rob

Leave a Reply

