Leaving the Stage

dive3.jpg

As I mentioned here, one of my goals for 2008 is to work myself off of the Vale stage once a month…I thought I’d take a moment and dig in to the reasons for this.

One of my great passions is to raise up leaders. Just because I’m the guy getting a paycheck, doesn’t mean I’m the only one gifted to lead. The truth is, after almost 2 years on the job, I can clearly see leadership gifts in several different people on my team. The choice is this: Do I trudge along and continue to be “the guy” in every aspect of our creative ministries, or do I come alongside a few people people, invest in them and help them take their next steps as leaders?

To me the choice is simple. As a leader, one of my God given responsibilities is to utilize the giftedness of my team members. If I don’t invest in the leadership potential of the people around me, then I have failed in that responsibility…plain and simple. We already have amazing volunteer leadership in many of our creative areas. The sound board, the tech team, the drama ministry and our 1st service singers are all managed by some wonderfully gifted people. The next step is to raise up the same kind of leadership on our Sunday morning platform. What’s exciting to me is that God has already put the pieces in place and is making all of this happen as only He can.

So, what are you going to do when you’re not on the stage? I’m glad you asked! One of several things. I may give our sound guys a break, help with children’s music, go lead worship up in the youth room or even take a rare weekend off! Either way, it’s going to be an exciting time in this ministry…and this is just the beginning of what God has in store.

If all goes well, this will all begin in April. I am so amazed at the people God has surrounded me with. It will be one of my great joys to see Him use these people to lead!

One Response

  1. I am working on the same thing myself. Only I am trying to do it for a month at a time. We are in the process of trying to start up a 2nd worship team so we can make use of more folks gifts and also give everyone more time to be led in worship. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

