Bible in a Year (pt.15)

bible.jpg

Here’s a great verse that leads to a tough question… “I rejoice in Your Word like one who finds a great treasure” – Psalm 119:162

Question: Is this true of me? Is this true of you?

I’m not much of a reader. I’m lucky if I get through 5 or 6 books a year. For many years, I used this as an excuse to not be in the Word consistently. But what I’ve discovered is that loving the Word of God transcends reading. It’s not as much about the act of physically reading as it is the desire to grab a hold of the contents consistently.

Have you ever had one of those moments, when you’re reading the Bible, where the light bulb goes on? Where something that was once cloudy became crystal clear and you got a shiver down your spine at the discovery? That’s what I long for each time I turn the pages of my Bible. I want that moment of discovery…that feeling of understanding that I didn’t have the moment before.

I believe the key is to read the Word expectantly. Read it as if you’re on an expedition. Read it as if it’s the greatest discovery you’ve ever known. Read it expecting to find that moment of connection with God. That’s when you will find yourself rejoicing in a great treasure.

Answer: It’s becoming more true of me each day. How about you?

One Response

  1. Thanks for the reminder that the Word of God is a treasure.

Leave a Reply

