Under the Weather

sick.jpg

Well, it finally happened. I’ve managed to come down with this nice respiratory whatchamacallit that’s been going around. Basically, I can’t sing a note! Here’s where it gets interesting. Tonight begins the last 3 nights of our Christmas production, in which I play an Irish immigrant who bursts into song during a traditional Irish Christmas party. Well there will be no bursting tonight. Instead, our Youth Pastor is frantically learning my song (thankfully Ted is a great singer). Hopefully I can still do my speaking lines without sounding like an Irish frog.

I went to the doctor and he said this is going to get worse before it gets better…thanks Doc, very reassuring! Anyhow, I know my God is bigger than this crud…we’ll wait and see what He does. Either way, this is going to be an interesting night.

5 Responses

  1. Jim – that stinks! I’ve been battling the same thing this week.

    A couple things that have helped me so far:

    – a cup of green tea w/ 1/4 tsp baking soda (gross, but it helps!)

    – gargeling really warm salt water

    – zinc lozenges

    Rest your voice as much as possible & hopefully, God will heal you quickly!

  2. Well, Laddie…

    Don’t ye worry yeself none! I’m shuur de udder lad will do a very fine job, m’boy! See to it dat ye get some rest, so ye’s can be fresh as an Irish Shpring! 😉

  3. Wow…that really sucks! I hope you feel better!

  4. better yet? How did it all go?

  5. Hey Dennis…

    I’m almost over it all. I managed to sing the last night of the production. By the end of the song I sounded a bit like Bryan Adams with a head cold, but I got through it 🙂

Leave a Reply

