Knowing When to Let Go

let-go.jpg

I’m a recovering “artist hog”…there I said it. I used to hoard my artists. It didn’t matter if you had other giftings, you are an artists and you must serve in this Artistic Ministry. Over the last couple of years, God has really changed my thinking on this.

The truth is, sometimes God calls people in different directions. Someone may be a good vocalist, but may also be gifted with children. That same person may have a family, a full-time job and little Tommy’s baseball schedule to keep up with as well. No one can do it all and I’ve come to realize that many people don’t know when to say “no” when it comes to ministry. I’ve watched people overload themselves for the cause of Christ only to create strain at home, struggles at work and have a consistent case of the “no-shows” in regards to ministry. When we try to do it all…we end up accomplishing virtually nothing.

Our vocal teams run on a 6 month rotation. If you commit, then the expectation is that every other week you come to rehearsals prepared, get up stinking early on Sunday morning and give everything you have as an artist to leading God’s people in worship. But, twice a year I’m faced with the reality that I may not keep all of these people. Every six months, I ask my team to re-evaluate their ministry commitments, lives, schedules and sanity and pray about “re-upping” for another rotation. By doing this, I run the risk of losing some people. As an “artist hog”, I used to really struggle with that. “They’re a good singer…God can’t possibly be calling them to work with youth”, I’d think to myself. Well guess what…YES HE CAN!

It took some time to recover from my “hog disorder”, but eventually I learned to rejoice when people are serving…regardless of where they are serving. I’ve learned to know when to let go. This morning I sent out the big “re-commitment email”…Whatever God does, I will rejoice in the results!

2 Responses

  1. Hey Jim – thanks for coming by the blog and leaving a comment. It sounds like we’ve been at our churches about the same amount of time.

    I’d love to talk with you more (after Christmas!) about your leadership process and how this commitment/evaluation thing is working for you.

  2. I would love a chance to talk a bit (deffinately after Christmas) – Drop me a line and let’s get connected!

Leave a Reply

