Leadership in 2008

lead.jpg

This coming year is a year to raise up leaders in our Creative Ministry. Over the last year and 1/2, we’ve really started to “push the envelope” creatively. This is great, but it’s not without its side effects. The higher the bar is raised, the more we have to work to sustain what we’re doing. God has blessed me with some extraordinarily gifted artists who have stepped in to various roles, such as leading worship and running vocal rehearsals. This has been a huge help over 2007, but I truly believe it’s only the tip of the iceberg.

As I’ve prayed about this coming year, the one theme that God keeps laying on my heart is leadership development. Not only identifying those key people, but putting them in place, working with them and putting them in a position where they can exercise their artistic and leadership gifts to their fullest.

Many people ask “why” when it comes to this subject. Aren’t you paid to do all this? Didn’t the church hire you to lead?The answer, of course, is yes. But any leader worth their salt is developing those around them. The truth is, yes I’m paid to do what I do, but I can’t do it all. I can’t make it all happen and still minister to my family and have a life. I’ve seen people burn themselves and their families right out of ministry because they tried to be “ministry supermen”. Not only do I not want this…I don’t believe for one second that God does either. Think about it…When Jesus was with His disciples was it just because he wanted some guys to hang out with? No, He was raising up leaders…leaders that would go on and be the launching point for the church. My goal is the same…raising up leaders to be the anchor points for our creative ministries over the next several years.

I can’t wait to see what God does with this team in 2008…it’s going to be a great year!

Leave a Reply

