Sweetly Broken

I love the word “broken” in the context of worship. What an incredible visual of what it is to be a worshipper. Being broken isn’t a comfortable thing (in life or in worship) – It means that you have come to a place where nothing else matters except God’s glory…a place where “self”, “me” and “mine”are now meaningless. I love what Ps. 51:17 says; “The sacrifice you desire is a broken spirit.You will not reject a broken and repentant heart, O God.” The beautiful thing is that God loves to pick up our broken pieces, reshape them in His hand and mold us into the worshippers He longs for us to be. I love the lyrics to the song “Sweetly Broken”

At the cross you beckon me

Draw me gently to my knees

And I am lost for words so lost in love

I am sweetly broken, wholly surrendered.

I can’t wait to do this song this weekend. I’ve watched as people have started to grasp the meaning behind the lyrics…I’ve watched as they have realized the necessity of being broken and I’ve watched as God has torn hearts, challenged lives and molded the pieces. I love watching God Work!

Here’s a video we’re going to roll before we sing it this weekend.

3 Responses

  1. this is one of my absolute favorite worship tunes

    good choice!!

  2. Yeah I love this song!!
    fersure one of my favorties.
    i’m excited that your doing it on sunday.
    and that’s a great video! :]

  3. Great song. We’ve been doing this for a while and I would love to get a hold of a video like this to make the song fresh. Is this something you’ve done? If so, is it available to pass along?

    Thanks, Brent

Leave a Reply

