Clearing my Brain

brain2.jpg

One of the greatest struggles I have in ministry is clearing my mind when I need to. There’s nothing wrong with being busy, but it can become a major issue if you can’t leave the busyness aside. Right now is total “crunch” time for me. Just when I wrap up one project, I’ve got 10 more needing my attention. As a result, I’ve been experimenting a bit with some different ways to clear the ol’ noggin. Here’s what’s worked so far.

“The Coffee Drive”– The trip home from the church takes about 7 minutes (not nearly enough time to clear my head). So, on an exceptionally busy day, I leave about 10 minutes early and swing through the Starbucks drive-thru. With coffee in hand, I proceed to take the “long way” home. This gives me an extra 20 minutes or so to clear my head as I down my Java.

“Playstation” – Perry Noble posted a similar thought here, and I couldn’t agree with him more! Some people play golf or go fishing…I play a game. It’ become even more fun as the kids get older, because I can play with them. Turner actually beat me the other day. I’m not advocating vegging in front of the Playstation for 5 hours at a time, but a good game break can totally readjust your head.

“Alternate Creativity” – Sometimes the best thing to do after a crazy day is to work on something completely outside of your work load. (If you’ve wondered why my blog header has changed 3 times in 2 days, here’s your answer). The act of creating can be incredibly therapeutic.

“Dinner With my Wife” – There’s nothing I cherish more than a little time away with Christine. Even if it’s just for an hour over dinner. I always feel instantly at ease when we’re out. What’s really cool is that she always seems to know when I need that time. Yesterday she had the kids stay with some friends for a bit while we headed out to try a new restaurant. That hour away changed my whole day!

“Kid Time”– It can be really difficult to engage the kids when my brain is full of “stuff”…but what I’ve found is that if I make the effort, get on their level and start horsing around, all my cares seem to disappear. My kids are pretty amazing…they help me out in ways they don’t even know.

How about you? How do you clear your head when it’s full of “busy”?

Leave a Reply

