Cartoons…

gossamer0155.jpg

Okay, so I’m a bit of a cartoon fan. One of the great benefits of parenthood is that I get to watch cartoons with my kids. Today’s cartoons (with a few notable exceptions) are pretty weak, but thanks to the creation of Boomerang on Cartoon Network, I can relive some of the great toons of yesteryear and watch them with the kids. So, just to be random, here are my top 10 favorite cartoons characters of all time.

10. Astro– The Jetson’s is a true classic…but Astro made it all come together.

9. Foghorn Leghorn– Completely arrogant and overbearing, but hey…it’s a Chicken, so it’s all good.

8. Wile E. Coyote – You can’t help but feel sorry for the poor guy…plus no one could survive a canon blast to the gut, followed by a 500 ft. drop and a 1 ton boulder falling from the sky onto their noggin like “Wile E.” could.

7. Fred Flintstone– Before Al Bundy there was Fred. The ultimate in dysfunctional husbands…the perfect example of what NOT to do at ANY point in life…plus it’s really cool to stop your car with your feet.

6. Jabberjaw – An animated shark who played drums… What’s not to love?

5. Spongebob– Who lives in a pineapple under the sea? One of the few genius characters of the new toon era.

4. Bugs Bunny – Old Bugs, new Bugs, baby Bugs…it’s all good.

3. Tom and Jerry – Okay, so that’s 2 characters, but neither could ever fly on their own.

2. Marvin the Martian– I’m going to use my “Eludium Q36 Explosive Space Modulator” to blow up the Earth…it obstructs my view of Venus!

1. Gossamer (see picture above)– Gossamer co-starred in my favorite cartoon episode off all time; “Hair Raising Hare“, with Bugs Bunny (1946). This was Chuck Jones and Mel Blanc at their very best. Nothing before or since has even come close in my book.

That’s it…how about you? C’mon…I know you still watch.

6 Responses

  1. love your list – classics…

    My personal favorites: Rocky and Bulliwinkle – with their crew along for the ride, Boris and Natasha, Fractured Fairy Tales

    Tennessee Tuxedo and Chumlee – “Phineas J Whoopee, you’re the greatest”

  2. oh, and how could I possibly forget Mr. Peabody and his boy Sherman 🙂

  3. I am definately an old school cartoon fan…..
    A few of my favorite show include…
    Muppet Babies
    JEM
    Thunder Cats
    Chip N Dale rescue rangers
    A pup named scooby doo
    and who could ever forget….
    Attack of the Killer Tomatos…..
    They do not make them like they used to.

  4. Scrappy
    Yogi Bear
    Fred Flinstone
    Captain Caveman
    Fat Albert
    ‘Bill’ (from Schoolhouse rock)
    Elmer Fudd
    Sylvester
    Tweety
    Tom and Jerry
    Not in any particular order!

  5. Christine said mine…..

    CAPTAIN CAVEMAN!!

    But I also love Spongebob and Muppet Babies. 🙂

  6. […] so Jim posted his favorite cartoon characters, so I felt the need to post my favorite afterschool shows.  I actually didn’t get a chance to […]

Leave a Reply

