Hannah Montana, Duets and Tears

hannah1.jpg

When my daughter was born, I always wondered if she would be musical. Will she play guitar like her Dad? Will she play piano? Will she be a singer? It didn’t take long before those questions were answered. 8 years later, I spend a great deal of time listening to Taylor play piano and sing to her Hannah Montana CD up in her room (the guitar is next).

Well last night, I was up listening to her sing when she cued up the last song on the CD. It’s a duet between Hanna (Miley Cyrus) and her Dad (Billy Ray) – Yep…that Billy Ray. I’m not a big “bubble gum pop” fan, but this song is absolutely beautiful and my little girl wanted to sing it with me. It took a few times through, but I eventually learned my part and started singing with Taylor. There was only one problem…I couldn’t sing without crying. I couldn’t even get through 2 lines without becoming a blubbering idiot.

I think it just hit me that I was singing a duet with one the greatest gifts God has ever given me. Taylor was a “preemie” who used to fit on my forearm and now she was singing next to me…and singing with the voice of an angel. I am so honored to have had that moment with my little girl. A moment I won’t soon forget.

In the end, we’ve decided to sing the song at Vale for Father’s Day next year (live band and the works) – Hopefully by then, I can get through it tear free.

6 Responses

  1. Man, you’ll be WORSE then! 🙂 I couldn’t do it… I’d try, but I know I wouldn’t make it through. I sometimes cry when I’m singing to my boys at their bedtime… and I’ve been doing that for years!

    Good stuff, man… keep it up! 😉

  2. Very cool, Jim. My Hannah will be 5 in March. The years are flying by. We have one more on the way, so I get to start over. Sarah (my wife) was in choir in high school and I played the sax for 10 years, so hopefully our kids get some musical ability in them!

  3. Awwww..this was such a great story! I cry when singing to Dawson sometimes too. It could be that my singing is so horrific that I even bring myself to tears…sigh… 🙂 I hope you sing with her for father’s day. How incredible!

    PS; Hannah Montana rocks!

  4. That is so precious Jim. I bet that made Taylor’s night too!! She gets her musical abilities honestly…I love you guys!!! Just wait…Turner will be on the drums…hahahahaha I can see it now!!

  5. Wow – that was moving – and touching. I’ll be thinking about this post for awhile as it relates to my own kids. Thanks for sharing such an intimate moment.

  6. You know that you will never be able to get through it tear free……
    something about seeing your little girl begin to branch out that will always get ya!
    can’t wait to soo you guys do it. You won’t be the only one crying =)

Leave a Reply

