Slip Up…

slip-11.jpg

Before I went into full-time ministry, a good friend told me to always learn from my mistakes…because I WILL make them. That’s one of those “advice nuggets” that you file away knowing that it could come in handy someday. Well “someday” has arrived.

I talk a lot in our creative ministry about humility and selflessness, two characteristics that don’t always come easy to artists, but are essential in the life of a worshipper. Well this week I failed a couple in our church, because of a failure to live by those characteristics.

Tonight everything hit me. After a day of trying to “justify” my choices, I found myself embarrassed and humbled by my actions. There wasn’t any confrontation, or anything like that, in fact there’s a distinct possibility that these people don’t even feel wronged by me at all. But the fact is, I know I failed them…both as a Pastor and as a friend.

Life and ministry are all about choices. At some point, we will all make bad ones. The question is…will we learn from them? Tomorrow morning, I’m paying a visit to this couple. I’m guessing I’m going to be a bit uncomfortable…but I’m thinking that’s a good thing and a necessary thing.

Thank you God for your grace…You are amazing!

One Response

  1. Jim…it takes guts to admit this and courage to follow through! These are some of the best and toughest lessons of growing. Thanks for being transparent with us.

Leave a Reply

