The Cherry On Top

macromaraschino.jpg

So tonight was our “date night” with the kids. Christine and Taylor went to dinner and I took my son, Turner out for dessert at Baskin-Robbins. Turner isn’t much of a sweets lover, but the dude can pack away some ice cream when he feels like it.

Turner got his single scoop of “Surf’s Up” on a sugar cone and took a seat while I waited for the masterpiece that is the “Banana Royale” to be completed. There’s nothing on the Baskin Robbins menu that I like more…and there’s nothing I like more on my favorite dessert than the maraschino cherry that sits on top of the whipped cream…yummy!

So I get my dessert and start to sit down. It was then that my dilemma began. “Hey Daddy…can I have the cherry?” my son asked. I couldn’t believe it. I mean this is supposed to be a night to hang together. A night to talk about kindergarten and football…not a night to give up my favorite thing on my favorite dessert!

A few different scenarios raced through my head.

1. I could say “NO!” – This is my cherry…you got your dessert and I got mine.

2. I could give him the cherry and then race up to the counter and ask for a replacement cherry…(I thought that seemed tacky)

3. Give him the cherry and deal with the pain.

I picked the 3rd scenario. I gave him the cherry and watched him light up like a Christmas tree. It was kind of an amazing moment, because Turner knows how much I love the cherry on top…but I gave it to him instead. What was a little thing to me, was ultimately a BIG deal to him…and I wouldn’t trade that for a whole jar of cherries. It’s amazing how little it takes for us to light up our children’s world.

2 Responses

  1. hey! love the new look

    you know, we used to have this problem too. until I started asking for an extra cherry 🙂

  2. I love this story! 🙂

Leave a Reply

