Bible in a Year (pt. 9)

rock.jpg

I love Moses. After a rough start in life, God calls him to something he’s completely uncomfortable with…leading the nation of Israel. Moses got to experience all the good stuff. The plagues on Egypt, the parting of the Red Sea, The Manna from Heaven, The pillar of fire by day and cloud by night, the 10 commandments etc, etc, etc…But my favorite experience of Moses was found in todays reading.

Exodus 33:18-23 says: 18 Moses responded, “Then show me your glorious presence.” 19 The Lord replied, “I will make all my goodness pass before you, and I will call out my name, Yahweh, before you. For I will show mercy to anyone I choose, and I will show compassion to anyone I choose. 20 But you may not look directly at my face, for no one may see me and live.” 21 The Lord continued, “Look, stand near me on this rock. 22 As my glorious presence passes by, I will hide you in the crevice of the rock and cover you with my hand until I have passed by. 23 Then I will remove my hand and let you see me from behind. But my face will not be seen.”

God IS that awesome! I can’t even begin to imagine the adrenaline rushing through Moses’ body at that moment. Total fear combined with total awe…it must have been truly amazing. This is the God we worship. A God who is awe inspiring, immense and powerful, yet gentle enough to place his servant in the crevice of a rock.

The glory Moses wanted to see that day, is the same glory we will be surrounded by in eternity. I don’t know about you, but I long for that day!

Leave a Reply

