Bible in a Year (pt.5)

Check out Psalms 13:1-6 –  1 O Lord, how long will you forget me? Forever? How long will you look the other way? 2 How long must I struggle with anguish in my soul,  with sorrow in my heart every day? How long will my enemy have the upper hand? 3 Turn and answer me, O Lord my God! Restore the sparkle to my eyes, or I will die. 4 Don’t let my enemies gloat, saying, “We have defeated him!” Don’t let them rejoice at my downfall.  5 But I trust in your unfailing love. I will rejoice because you have rescued me. 6 I will sing to the Lord because he is good to me.

I wonder how often we respond to adversity the way David did in vs. 5-6. Life is life…sometimes it’s difficult. It’s not a stretch to have times when you feel the way David did in vs. 1-4. The question is; how does that circumstance impact your trust in God? Do you forget God’s faithfulness in times of trouble, or do you rely on it all the more?

I’ve found that in times when God has felt distant, He’s actually been right by my side…waiting for me to turn to Him in my struggle…

Leave a Reply

