100 M.P.H.

2804722428.jpg

One thing I was really looking forward to on this vacation was a “release”…something to wipe out the fatigue and stop the wheels in my brain from spinning so quickly. I found it on the back of a Harley. Truthfully, I’m not much of a motorcycle guy… they kind of freak me out the same way a bungee jump might… but there I was on the back of my Father-in-Law’s motorcycle, wearing one of those cool retro “WWI” looking helmets…feeling the wind in my face and trying to not appear scared to death as we headed down the road.

I peaked over his shoulder and noticed we were doing about 75 M.P.H. I found myself relaxing and starting to enjoy the ride. We hit 80 and it was even better. Then we stopped, turned around and started to head back. Over the next few seconds we did 0-60 faster than I’ve ever done before…I looked over his shoulder again…70, 80, 90…100M.P.H. !!!

I found myself exhaling everything. It was one of the most exhilirating and freeing moments I’ve ever had. I had found my release. It was as if God had reached in and taken all of the stress away and replaced it with a vibrancy I hadn’t felt in quite a few months…it was a sweet ride!

Thankfully, there’s not much of a police presence in little Wapato, Washington…I’m thinking that may have ruined the moment.

Leave a Reply

